A winter night. A nod to Hank Williams.

The mix of Fall/Winter weather indicates the start to my favorite time of year. My heart is light on this cold night. I grin as I tie on my scarf. I hear the music in the background. I listen as Nora Jones’ sings a song written by Hank Williams’.

In this simple gingham-painted moment, I am moved by the beautiful story telling of an old song.

As Cold Cold Heart played from my phone, like it has times before, today I looked down to read the lyrics as they scrolled by… The words were simple, descriptive & poetic.

In this moment, I discovered this song for the first time…one more time.

In Cold Cold Heart, Hank tells a tale of an emotional dance. The story unfolds in a monologue by a Hopeful Romantic who is pleading to an emotionally crippled partner. The reader learns of the couple’s troubled history through the Hopeful Romantic’s pleas for warmth and a chance to lead the dance. The reader soon learns that there is no conclusion to this tango of contraction.

The song is ending and I ponder the perspective of the bearer of the “cold cold heart.” I wonder if the pain lasted or if the hope won. I am in awe of the bleeding honesty which was shared in simple words and seductively powerful imagery.

Ironically, the sad song made me happier. The unexpected discovery of this beautifully constructed story, filled my heart with a gratitude for raw & masterful writing.

…and with a warm thought and a nod to Hank, I walked into the cold cold night.

Cold Cold Heart

I’ve tried so hard my dear to show
That you’re my every dream
Yet you’re afraid each thing I do
Is just some evil scheme A memory from your lonesome past
Keeps us so far apart
Why can’t I free your doubtful mind
And melt your cold cold heart

Another love before my time
Made your heart sad an’ blue
And so my heart is paying now
For things I didn’t do

In anger unkind words are said
That make the teardrops start
Why can’t I free your doubtful mind
And melt your cold cold heart

There was a time when I believed
That you belonged to me
But now I know your heart is shackled
To a memory

The more I learn to care for you
The more we drift apart
Why can’t I free your doubtful mind
And melt your cold cold heart

3 thoughts on “A winter night. A nod to Hank Williams.

Thoughts? Leave a reply

